Skip to content

December 22, 2004

All right, I finally got an online journal.  I guess I’ll start it off by explaining why.


I used to keep a regular journal, it was one of my New Year’s resolutions a few years ago.  But, as is the tradition of New Year’s resolutions, I didn’t keep up with it very well.  I have a strong aversion to writing journals.  I’m still not exactly sure why, but I’ve whittled it down to a few reasons.  Mostly it was that it took too long.  It always seems like a good idea around the New Year because there’s so much more free time during winter break, but then the school schedule sets back in, and the more you put it off to do homework, the more occurrences pile up that you need to write down, and unless you want to spend the good part of your weekend writing about the rest of your week… well, you get the picture.  It’s a time-consuming thing, this writing.


Of course, time is always being consumed; the point is to make sure to spend that time wisely.  You’d think that I, being likely to pursue a career in writing, would consider this time well-spent.  But my journal writing rapidly became just a list of all the things I did on a certain day, with no point other than to record my history.  I’ve since come to the conclusion that if something is really worth remembering, then I’ll, well, remember it.  As an aspiring writer, the real point of this journal should have been to develop my own writing style, but this is difficult to do when writing what is essentially a history textbook.  So gradually, I began to do things that were more satisfying to me with my free time, such as playing video games or hanging out with friends.  After all, I was only doing this writing for my own benefit.


Actually, one of the reasons I stuck with it for as long as I did was that it was not entirely for my own benefit.  It was also for my sister’s, whom I usually allow to read my journal since I really have nothing to hide.  It made writing a good deal more interesting when I had an audience who could give me feedback.  So the obvious solution was to get a Xanga site–that way lots of people would be able to give me feedback.  And there were more advantages as well.  I can type a good deal faster than I can write, which eliminates at least partly the time-consuming factor.  I don’t have to clutter up my room with another journal every time I fill one up.  And I can even put up pictures.


So why did I wait so long?


Well, it’s junior year, I’ve got 3 AP classes, the workload is heavy.  And making a site is a huge undertaking for me, one of the most indecisive people I know.  Just setting up my profile and other features for my site took me over half an hour (I’m pretty sure), and I just didn’t want to use my little free time to do it.  So in the end, I’ve still got the same problems I had with my original journal.  There’s absolutely no evidence that history won’t repeat itself and I’ll give this whole thing up part of the way through the year.  But what can I say?  I need a change.  Give me constructive feedback and I’ll probably be compelled to write more.  But I can’t make any promises.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. stephanie permalink

    PLEASE CHANGE THE BACKGROUND COLOR– IT IS BLINDING hahafeedback from the future…ah man now i have to find something new to read during my procrastination timeboooogood job on the writing though. write me a book, babyyy:]cough cough cough haha

Leave a Reply

