Skip to content

December 23, 2004

Here are some of my favorites:


Video games: Donkey Kong Country series, Super Mario RPG, and for multiplayers, Super Smash Bros. Melee and Mario Kart: Double Dash.  Currently playing Tales of Symphonia, which is looking to be pretty good as well, but incredibly long.


Did I mention I like Nintendo?  Well, I’m almost more disappointed about Nintendo sales plummeting than I am about Bush winning the election.  Because if Nintendo goes out of business, it’s going to affect my life a lot more than any government official.  And I simply don’t understand why they are doing so poorly.  Playstation is a good system, I’ll admit; it puts out a lot of good games.  But X-Box?  The only good thing they put out is Halo and other first person shooters.  Without those, it would have virtually nothing.  And moreover, I’ve played Halo 2.  It’s cool, but the improvements from the first game are not that noticeable.  It’s hard to believe that a system can put all its eggs in one genre and still be successful.


TV shows: Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel were both favorites, too bad they’re over… but some of the writers went to Lost, which is rapidly becoming a new favorite.  For comedies, I love Scrubs and Malcolm in the Middle.


Books: Ender’s Shadow and Ender’s Game, in that order.  Used to enjoy Redwall, but all of the books in the series were pretty much the same… Harry Potter of course, and Piers Anthony’s series Incarnations of Immortality is pretty interesting.  I am currently reading Xenocide, another Ender book.  I am also reading a book called God that my friend Mike has lent me, which is another very interesting read.  It’s a skeptical piece that examines the many stories of the Bible and other monotheistic religious texts.  I’m an atheist, by the way, but I like to go to youth groups because, well, they’re good people.  And I like to learn.


Food: No particular favorite, I’ll just say pizza.  The only foods I don’t like are tomatoes and olives.  And tomatoes I will eat if they are hot, e.g. on pizza or in sauce.


Movies: For action, Mortal Kombat.  For comedy, Dumb and Dumber.  For Disney movies, Aladdin, with Mulan and Lilo and Stitch close seconds.


Music:  XTC, Fountains of Wayne, Matthew Sweet, The Rembrandts, Jason Mraz… any of these ringing a bell?  Maybe if you’re a girl, because I pretty much listen to what my mom and sister do.  I even enjoy Hanson.  But really, I like all kinds of music, except I’m not that partial to rap or angry white boy music.  Speaking of which, I’m a big fan of Weird Al Yankovic, whose Angry White Boy Polka is a work of pure genius.


Board games: It’s a shame that Scrabble isn’t very popular, because I’m sure I could embarrass just about anyone at my school playing against them.  But Cranium and Risk are both much more involved games, I suppose–better for parties and things like that.  And of course, chess is also a favorite.


Guess that’ll do for now.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Don’t worry about Nintendo; despite their relatively low volume of sales, they make the most money per console sold than either Sony or Microsoft (in fact, they’re the ONLY company of the three that profits from their systems), and their portable systems consistently sell more than all other gaming consoles combined.Also, Scrabble’s very popular with my crowd.

Leave a Reply

