Skip to content

July 12, 2005

Well, didn’t I tell you?  Just as predicted, I made a couple of entries into my weblog and then gave up on it.  I could go through a long explanation of why I might have done that, but I think my first entry should have summed it up.  Although, who can remember half a year later?


In any case, I’d really rather just move on to things I want to talk about.  My trip to France is catalogued in my actual journal since I didn’t have easy access to the Internet there.  The trip back was fairly uneventful.  We made it through the initial plane ride to Chicago and had a sort of dinner (meals have no name when you’re traveling by plane) at McDonald’s.  I had forgotten how great McDonald’s was.  Don’t get me wrong, I really didn’t mind French food, but there’s something special about that processed juiciness of a Big Mac.  The best part, however, was the soft drink, which, when purchased with a meal, effectively cost less than a dollar.  In France, it simply is not possible to get a cheap drink, at any restaurant.  You’re lucky if you find one at a restaurant for three euros, and if you find one for less than that, you should consider yourself the luckiest person in France.  Even soft drinks can go for four euros or more, and don’t forget that a euro is worth considerably more than a dollar.  I dislike drinking tap water, but that is where I draw the line.


Anna and Mike decided to stay up for the entire trip back, which, by the time they got back to their beds, amounted to over 24 hours.  Anna said that would help a lot with the jet lag, but somehow I still doubt it.  I went ahead and slept for most of the second plane ride, which lasted about four hours, because at that time it was about 9:00 or so in California, which seemed like a good time to go to bed.  I couldn’t, and still can’t see the logic in waiting until you plop into bed exhausted at 2:00 in the morning so that you could probably sleep until well past noon the next day.  That’s not a good time adjustment.  The way I did it, I slept four hours of restless sleep and about five and a half hours or so of good sleep at home, so I woke up at about 8:00, when I was supposed to.  Granted, I did sleep until 11:30 the next morning, but that was also because I went to bed later than I should have.   And two mornings later I was lively enough to wake up at 7:00 to go running by the river with a cross country group.


Since I got back, I’ve mostly just been relaxing.  On Saturday I went to see Beauty and the Beast at the Music Circus with my family, and afterward we got to meet five members of the cast, so that was pretty cool.  We were last in line because we were listening to the singing at the reception.  But that meant that we could take pictures with all of them without feeling guilty about holding up the line.  Of course, we were taking up time from the actors’ break between shows, but five people can’t form a mob and throw you out of the room.  And I also saw Jasmyn (spelling?) from the French trip there on my way out.  It’s really amazing how often these days I bump into someone I know.  Seems almost every time I go out I see someone, even if it’s not someone I know very well.  Just today I saw Rachael, who, regretfully, did not go on our trip to France with us, at Costco.  I guess I know a lot more people than I used to.  Or maybe people are just getting out of the house more often than they did before.


Other than that, I’ve just gone to hang out with Mike McClean and company a couple times, playing board games like Monopoly and Risk and video games like Mario Kart and Smash Bros.  And I’ve been reading a lot.


I’ll tell you about a couple of the books I’ve been reading in my next entry.  Right now I’m about to go hang out at Damon’s house.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

