Skip to content

May 16, 2006

Well, as expected, my speech was not selected even though I had a 60% chance. Whether you guys actually liked it or not, it simply was not valedictorian speech material. It was actually more like blog material, which is perhaps why I posted it on my blog.

I don’t really care anymore. There’s absolutely nothing I could have written that would have satisfied both me and the panel. I’d rather write more personally, and valedictorian speeches are much too formal. Besides, there are three other very capable valedictorians who want this opportunity just as much as I do, perhaps more.

Which is not to say I wouldn’t have liked to speak at graduation. That would have been quite an honor. But if I can’t say anything that I want to say, then it defeats the purpose.

Of course, there’s still a chance I’ll have to speak if two people can’t get straight A’s this semester. That would be kind of awkward, since I’m pretty sure no one in charge wants me to give this speech. They’d probably force me to revise it beyond recognition.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. i loved your speech. honestly. but you hit the nail on the head with it being a blog rather than a valedictorian speech. i personally would have liked to hear it read aloud, but hey, thats just me. congrats on your valedictorian status and good luck at Berkeley.

Leave a Reply

