Skip to content

July 20, 2006

Of course, it’s not like everything here is exactly the same this time around. But as fate would have it, and as fate consistently does have it no less, the things that have changed aren’t exactly the most exciting things in the world. More often than not, in fact, they kind of suck.

I’m not just griping about lost nostalgia because of things like the flooding of the entire ground floor of Kahala Mall which forced them to remove that cool colorful carpeting I used to love so much as a kid and replace it with the most boring shade of solid gray imaginable. That does bother me, but it’s not really that big a deal. You forget about it after a while.

The things I’m talking about are more along the lines of, we haven’t actually DONE anything this entire trip so far because of all the preparation we have to do what with the wedding coming up. I swear to God, we have spent the last week and a half shopping. Now, Ala Moana and Kahala Mall are excellent shopping centers—see, I even mentioned the latter in that nostalgia bit—I really don’t need to go back there every freaking day. My mom and my sister have literally spent hours upon hours browsing in various jewelry stores to find a wedding ring or something. I don’t even remember anymore, my brain has gone loopy from all the bright dazzling gems shining in my eyes all the time, but that seems to be the logical reason, if there were ever a logical reason to spend that much time in a jewelry store. And if it’s not jewelry shopping, it’s clothes shopping, and if it’s not clothes shopping, it’s getting a sample makeover to see what’s going to look best for the wedding, and if it’s not that, it’s grocery shopping, and if it’s not that, it’s going to the places where we’re going to have the wedding and the reception and waiting for them to straighten out all the details while I kind of just sit there awkwardly not saying anything until we’re ready to leave and go shopping again.

I’ve taken to staying here at the house sometimes instead, but that involves listening to my grandma telling the same stories about her youth over and over again like a radio station with about three or four songs on its playlist until I can go over to my cousins’ house next door and play a whole lot of video games. Boy, I thought I was playing video games a lot when I was in Folsom—I still have no idea what real video game playing is. My 16-year-old cousin Chris (yes, we have the same name, but he’s younger so it’s their family’s fault) spends pretty much all of his spare time playing them, as far as I can tell. On one of the days I stayed behind, he had his friend Kazuya come over, and between the three of us, we played video games for about seven hours straight. It started with them annihilating me in Halo even with a moderate handicap because I’ll never ever be good at first person shooters as long as I live and don’t really care to that much anyway because I still think that game’s way overrated, and that’s probably most of the reason why I won’t improve. After that, Kazuya attempted the final boss in God of War in God mode, a three part process. Kazuya kept trying to beat the second part for over two hours without any luck. I think he must have died well over a hundred times, at a conservative estimate. He was patient and determined, I must give him that. I must give him that. But then, he was Japanese, so it’s really not that much of a surprise or anything.

I did get to show off my Guitar Hero skills, though. It’s like DDR or Donkey Konga, except you play it on this special guitar that comes with the game. And they even had Killer Queen as one of the songs—that’s a good enough reason to get it right there. I’m going to make one of my friends with a Playstation 2 get it so that I can keep playing it when I get back.

But seriously, if I were to talk to any of my friends right now, they’d ask me, “So what have you been doing on your trip so far? Been surfing and snorkeling at the beach? Oh man, I’m so jealous you got to go to Hawaii! What an awesome place!” And then I’d be like, “Uh, no, I haven’t actually been to the beach yet. We’ve been… shopping.” And then they’d give me that look. You know, the one that’s like a mix of incredulity, exasperation, and pity. Basically, a “What is wrong with you” look. You’ve given it to me before, I can almost guarantee it. I don’t know why though. It’s not my fault. I don’t have a car or anything.

I’ve been meaning to write some postcards, but I don’t really feel like using the entire space to bitch about how bored I am. I mean, I was excited when my uncle came over and I got to do some hard labor in my grandma’s yard for a few hours. I was like, “YES! HARD LABOR!” He did pay me for it, but he didn’t have to.

I don’t even have easy access to a computer here either. Usually, whenever my mom or my sister are home, they need to come and use it when I’m right in the middle of a post or something. Yesterday my mom kicked me off the computer to check her e-mail, and then the computer froze while she was messing around with whatever she was doing, so I lost a good hour of writing this very post. I hate losing things I’ve written. I know I’m forgetting something. It’s still not as good as it was the first time. It’s never as good as it was the first time.

We are doing some fun stuff, though. We went to a sort of bridal shower slash karaoke party a few days ago, and I always love singing with my family. And actually, my uncle is going to take me and Chris to the beach just this afternoon, so that should be cool.

And I have gotten a lot of reading done this summer too. More than I usually get when I actually have summer reading, in fact. So far, I’ve knocked out Jennifer Government, The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (all five books plus bonus story Zaphod plays it safe, for a total of over 800 pages), God’s Debris, and The Catcher in the Rye. Good books all. But I’ll tell about them another time.

From → Uncategorized

11 Comments
  1. Anonymous permalink

    if you don’t want to go shopping, why don’t you say something along the lines of…”fuck this, I don’t want to go shopping mom.”  I bet she wouldn’t bother you anymore if you say that verbatim.  : )
    you’re 18 with a license.  get the fuck at of that house.  go meet a girl and have a romantic summer fling or something.  You might as well since you’re in HAWAII.  …ewww… I sound like such a guy.  : (

  2. go out and do something absolutely crazy and stupid
    you’re in hawaii. live your goddamn life

  3. that sounds like total and complete hell.
    whatever if you’re bored, here is a tv schedule for you:
    1.) Monday: yeah, I got nothing.
    2.) Tuesday: Last Comic Standing (vote for Ty Barnett) and SVU re-runs
    3.) Wednesday: PROJECT RUNWAY and The Hills
    4.) Thursday: America’s Got Talent LMAO
    5.) Friday: re-runs of everything you missed during #1-4. 

  4. Mindy’s advice would work very well, I think. Not only would I no longer have to go shopping, I would no longer be able to leave the house again.

  5. Oh yeah, I forgot. Ahem.What part of “don’t have a car” do you people not understand?! I’m not just gonna jack my grandma’s wheels and go for a cruise!And how many of you are having summer flings, anyway? If you voted me most likely to succeed because you expect me to be the model of exciting living for you, you’ll be waiting one heck of a long time.And, at the other extreme… watching TV all day is not exactly what I had in mind as a solution to this problem. But thanks.

  6. To get the visitor spy thing, just go to http://www.myXspy.com and sign up.
    The song will be posted at some point, and your welcome for the status bump.
    Adios.
    S.

  7. Just as a side note: I’d be having a summer fling if I wasn’t lugging boxes at bargin city all day. But you should have one. Just go sit on the beach everyday, you’ll get someone. Or get a part time job whilest you’re out there. Money Money…. XD

  8. I should probably post a comment… hmm well I have had too much computer acess to the point that it has gotten kind of boring so it can’t all be bad.Also being good at FPS is what B-Mc is for. At least you have an extraordinary level of skill at minesweeper and umm music/rythm games? [tring to label the genre that is guitar hero and DDR among others] I on the other hand have extraordinary skills at no genres, though i am pretty decent at most things that I have spent a decent amount of time playing, but I have never had the time or patience to get really good at any specific game, so count yourself as lucky :pMabe i should get one of those grip excercisers to help hone my dexterity/gameing reflexes/ l33t uber skillxorz

  9. you complain alot. maybe you should get a blog. oh wait…heh go out for a random jog in the middle of the day to work on that tan and be the envy of all the people driving-“Oh, I wish I had the time to run”

  10. dude, i wish project runway lasted all day…………….. but it doesn’t.  so it’s still and option BOO-YAH!

  11. Booooooorrrring. Wobbbles, if you were here, we would’ve robbed a bank and had a zaney dead-hooker adventure by now. When the hell do you come back?? Me=not Japanese=not patient.

Leave a Reply

