Skip to content

March 15, 2007

I’m not really sure what I expect to get down here in the ten minutes before I have to leave for class again, but oh well.

On the subject of eternal life: disregarding technical issues like being around past humankind’s history and past the earth’s existence, at which point you would likely spend an eternity floating around space and not being able to do anything whatsoever, or having to hide from the world forever because the fact of your everlasting life would strike fear into the general populace’s hearts as in Tuck Everlasting, I think it’s kind of ridiculous how many people dislike the idea of living forever.  It all seems to be based on the general notion that the brevity of life is what gives life its sweetness.  “You will eventually get bored,” says Andrea.  She says it as if anyone could possibly know that.  It rather depresses me that people think life will eventually get boring no matter what.  It implies that there’s nothing that we enjoy of its own essence; we only fool ourselves into enjoying things because in a short time we won’t get to enjoy them anymore, so we better make the most of it while we can.  But me–I look around, and I can’t see that.  There is no way that I could ever get tired of living, period.  Maybe that’s not a logical way to think about it, because I can’t perceive how I’ll feel millions of years from now much better than Andrea can.  But it still bothers me because I am a generally logical person, and if I can think about it that way, then why doesn’t anyone else?  Why don’t any of these people who claim to be driven by emotion feel that they can forever appreciate life?

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

