Skip to content

April 8, 2007

So it’s the first weekend back after spring break, and I’m sitting in my dorm room at midnight Saturday with Welcome Interstate Managers playing.  It’s actually been quite a good weekend so far.  I say “actually” because I haven’t gotten to see Sumita all weekend.  She has yet another midterm, this time for organic chem, but that’s definitely an important one.  The last midterm for that class was the one she got really upset about since she got a C on it, and it was worth sort of a lot of her grade too.  So I really do have to let her study and bite my tongue.  But geez, you’d think she could at least answer her phone.  I don’t know if she turned it off or what.  I guess that makes sense.  With over 450 Facebook friends just in Berkeley, she probably gets her fair share of calls, and she wants no interruptions.

On the other hand, I do have to question her studying habits.  She’s one of those people who seems to have to study in a group.  And I am definitely an advocate of the study group–remember my French challenging study group?  Still one of the best experiences of my life, and it gave me a lifelong friend.  I guess that was sort of a fluke, but even so, there is something to be said for the camaraderie of being united in a single goal that you can work toward together, especially now in college when grades seem to be the only goal we can focus on these days.  (Certainly not sports or anything like that.)  But I have to say, studying in a group did have its limits, and there were quite a number of days when we didn’t get a lot accomplished, to be honest.  We would skim through the chapter as fast as we could and then go play Tetris or something, because it was a Friday afternoon, and we were reveling in the glory of just being there and hanging out with some of the coolest people in the world.  It was even more beautiful now, thinking back on it.  And it was okay, too, because, well, it was French.  And we had a whole year to study for it.  Nobody was really worried about it.

So I don’t know.  Maybe it is possible for a study group to be productive, if everyone in the group is truly worried about it.  But when I saw Sumita Thursday night (which was the last time I saw her), and she was doing math homework in the middle of the hallway, her usual study area, she unsurprisingly started talking to a bunch of the people who happened to be walking down halls–since, you know, that tends to be what happens in hallways.  People walk down them.  I was there for about two hours I would say, maybe more, and I can tell you, Sumita barely touched her homework.  She ultimately decided not to bother with it at all and to just look up the answers and figure out how to do the problems later.  So she wound up staying up till about 2:00–remember that she has class at 8 EVERY MORNING–to talk to a bunch of friends on her hall.  And this is not the only time this has happened.  It’s really quite incredible how easily distracted she is.  I guess that’s a common characteristic of talkative, outgoing people.

Another weekend, just before spring break, she had told me earlier on the phone that she needed to study, so I decided to just go down to Telegraph and buy a Cal shirt for my upcoming Men’s Chorale performance.  So I bought the shirt, and on my way back up to Clark Kerr who do I see but Sumita and her friends walking down the street?  Apparently they were taking a break to go get Yogurt Park, so I joined them.  And when we got back, we saw a bunch of people in the Unit 1 courtyard painting jeans and shirts on the grass, and it looked like fun.  So after a very brief internal debate, Sumita decided to go ahead and paint one of her shirts.  And as you probably know (or if you don’t, I’m about to tell you), painting a shirt takes a considerable amount of time, especially if you’re talking to a bunch of friends while doing it.  All in all, I was with her for probably more than an hour.  And I couldn’t help wondering if that hour wouldn’t have been spent in much the same way had I not been there.  Had I not had the good fortune to run into her or get to hang out with her all day–much like today.

I guess I wasn’t really expecting the situation to be like this–I’m a pretty busy guy myself.  But I do get enough sleep, and truth be told, I do have a lot of free time.  It just seems like I’m busy sometimes because I manage my time so poorly.  So I guess I can sympathize with Sumita in that respect.  But at the same time, I really would like to see my girlfriend more than a few hours a week, and I can’t help but feel that that could happen if she would just actually study when she studies.  If it really was just the studying, then again, I would let her have all the time in the world.  But if she’s wasting a lot of the time that she could be spending with me–that does bother me.

She’d better do really well on that midterm, that’s all.

Anyway, another crappy thing that happened was that the “Smashturbation” tournament got canceled due to poor administrative skills, and I had actually really been looking forward to that.  But I did play basketball for the first time in months, and I did go out to dinner with Debbie and her friends, and I did have the chance to do laundry, and David even came for a couple hours, so I got to hang out with him and Wilson.  So not bad at all.  And tomorrow, I get to go to an Easter brunch at some restaurant I’ve never heard of with a whole bunch of my friends.  Sumita can come too, but she hasn’t called me back since I called her many hours ago.  But anyway, I am getting to do a lot, so I can’t complain.  And I should definitely get cracking on my homework tomorrow, or I’ll eat my words when my own midterms start rolling around.  Heh heh.

Classes are going better and better.  Got a 96.5% on my Thinking About Not Thinking midterm, a 9.75 on my last essay for that class (I think I’ve finally figured out the best way to write according to their grading tendencies), and perfect scores on the last couple quizzes for math.  We’re doing triple integration, which is one of the most important things in multivariable calc, so our GSI’s quizzing us like crazy on it.  It also happens to be one of the things I’m most comfortable with, since it’s much like double integration, which means I have Chayo experience in the area, and I can dominate in anything I have Chayo experience in.  And everyone else sucks at it too.  It’s beautiful.  Got a perfect score on the most recent CS project despite making a number of mistakes and being really stressed out at the time, and I also got almost all of the studying done over break that I need to do for the midterm this week.  And MCB61–well, I’ve never really been too worried about that one.  Barely any homework as usual, which is always very nice.  All things considered, life is pretty good right now, and once Sumita’s chem midterm is out of the way, everything will be as awesome as I could ask for.  Gotta get to bed.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

