Skip to content

April 18, 2007

So what’s so great about free will anyway?


Free will implies a soul that determines our actions, one that is eternal and unchanging, untainted by external events.  Even I couldn’t change that soul if I tried, or the essence of “me” would be gone.  The soul must necessarily be static for a true self to exist for any length of time, and a self must exist if decisions are to be made by something other than the universe’s laws of cause and effect.


But I couldn’t change that soul if I tried.  I don’t get to decide who “I” am.  I just am me, and will be.  Forever.


What kind of free will is that?


Give me illusory free will any day, so that I am unlimited.  I can do anything, be anything, as long as I don’t get stuck on the fact that what I actually do turn out to do and be is beyond my control.


 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

